Association for Behavior Analysis International

The Association for Behavior Analysis International® (ABAI) is a nonprofit membership organization with the mission to contribute to the well-being of society by developing, enhancing, and supporting the growth and vitality of the science of behavior analysis through research, education, and practice.

Wayne W. Fisher

Fisher Wayne

Rutgers University


Wayne Fisher is the Henry Rutgers Endowed Professor of Pediatrics, among other appointments, at Rutgers University. Before that he was the H. B. Munroe Professor of Behavioral Research in the Munroe-Meyer Institute and the Department of Pediatrics at the University of Nebraska Medical Center (UNMC). He was also the director of the Center for Autism Spectrum Disorders at the Munroe-Meyer Institute and is a Board Certified Behavior Analyst at the doctoral level (BCBA-D) and a licensed psychologist. He was previously a professor of psychiatry at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine and served as executive director of the Neurobehavioral Programs at the Kennedy Krieger Institute and the Marcus Behavior Center at the Marcus Institute, where he built clinical research programs in autism and developmental disabilities with international reputations for excellence. Fisher’s methodologically sophisticated research has focused on several intersecting lines, including preference, choice, and the assessment and treatment of autism and severe behavior disorders, which have been notable for their creative use of concurrent schedules of reinforcement; these have become more commonplace in clinical research primarily as a result of his influence. He has published more than 180 peer-reviewed papers in 30-plus behavioral and/or medical journals, including the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis, Journal of the Experimental Analysis of Behavior, American Journal on Intellectual and Developmental Disabilities, Pediatrics, and The Lancet. Dr. Fisher has had near-continuous federal grant support for his research for decades. He is a past editor of the Journal of Applied Behavior Analysis; a past president of the Society for the Experimental Analysis of Behavior (SEAB); and recipient of the Bush Leadership Award, the APA (Division 25) Award for Outstanding Contributions to Applied Behavioral Research, the UNMC Distinguished Scientist Award, the University of Nebraska system-wide Award for Outstanding Research and Creativity Activity, and the SEAB Don Hake Translational Research Award from APA (Division 25).






Modifed by Eddie Soh